Physician Assistant: Evidence-Based Medicine Databases
This guide is designed to assist all students in the Physician Assistant program at Touro University Nevada. The Clinical Medicine guide (http://libguides.tun.touro.edu/clinicalmedicine) features resources for clinical clerkships.
CINAHL is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. To search for evidence-based research, check the "Evidence-Based Practice" box under the "Limit your results" heading on the main search interface before entering your search terms.
First Consult is built into ClinicalKey and contains information on medical evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention. To access First Consult content, run a search in ClinicalKey and use the Source Type filter at the top of the page to select First Consult.
The Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews and protocols prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in the Cochrane Collaboration. It contains over 5,000 Cochrane systematic reviews and over 650,000 other data records, covering clinical trials, methods, technology, and economic evaluations.
Isabel is best known for being a differential diagnosis tool, but it also contains evidence-based information from BMJ Best Practice. To search this portion of Isabel, navigate to the database and enter keywords into the BMJ Best Practice box on the right.
A database of evidence-based information on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative, and integrative therapies. This resource is the result of a merger between the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database and Natural Standard.
Contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions.
Search bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice.
Clinical Queries is a special search feature within the PubMed interface that allows you to search for clinical research, including systematic reviews. From the main search page, look under the PubMed Tools heading for the Clinical Queries link.
A premier point-of-service clinical medicine database providing current information on over 10,000 topics in over 20 specialties. Includes drug interaction information from Lexi-Interact, a Lexi-Comp product.