TUN Jay Sexter Library Research Guides: Education Research Guide: Databases

Did you know?

The Library offers over one hundred databases and online resources covering research topics, clinical tools, reference sources, news sources, and more. Coverage includes medical topics, education, and many other subject areas.

The Library Databases page allows you to search by type of database:

Subject Area: Select database related to your discipline, such as nursing or education
Database Type: Narrow your databases choices by focus, including anatomy resources or databases that include ebooks
Vendor/Providers: You can limit databases to particular database companies, such as EBSCO or ProQuest

Looking for Full-Text?

The databases will not always offer you the full-text of articles, but the Library offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This is a service where you can submit an online Interlibrary Loan Request, and Library staff will get the article for you.

If you need further assistance or have any questions regarding ILL, email tun.library@touro.edu or call us at 702-777-1740.

What's a database?

Databases are Library tools that allow you to search for articles, e-books, and other materials. The databases on this page are ideal ones to start with for your discipline; go to the Library Databases page for the entire list of databases.

Search by database if you are looking for a topic. If you are searching by a specific article citation or if you are looking for a particular journal title go to the Journals page.

Selected Education Databases

Here are some databases that cover education-related topics.

Education Database This link opens in a new window
Includes articles from over 900 periodicals, covering primary, secondary, and higher education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. This database contains more than 1.4 million records and provides the full text of over 340,000 documents dating back to 1966.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text information especially for educators, professional librarians, and researchers on education topics ranging from children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search four core multi-disciplinary databases – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. It includes over 3 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, books and chapters, gray literature (dissertations, technical and annual reports, consumer brochures, and more), and electronic publications.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
One-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals. Search from a diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed for academic institutions, a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature. Over 8,500 journals from over 90 countries are currently indexed, including all MEDLINE titles and over 2,800 currently indexed journals unique to Embase. Users can search using MeSH indexing or Embase's Emtree indexing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Use the PubMed interface to search for biomedical citations. Download Nomad at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ and link to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by the Jay Sexter Library at TUN.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation database that includes peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing results.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 230 peer-reviewed journals geared toward K-12 teachers and researchers.