TUN Jay Sexter Library Research Guides: Nursing Research Guide: Databases

Looking for Full-Text?

The databases will not always offer you the full-text of articles, but the Library offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This is a service where you can submit an online Interlibrary Loan Request, and Library staff will get the article for you.

If you need further assistance or have any questions regarding ILL, email tun.library@touro.edu or call us at 702-777-1740.

Clinical Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Contains numerous medical texts (including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment), practice cases, images, videos, practice board review questions, and much more.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE clinical reasoning modules. It is based on the well-known book Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access to evidence-based information to help clinicians make the best decisions possible for those in their care. From quick answers at the point of care to leading full-text reference material, it provides resources to stay abreast of rapidly expanding clinical knowledge, quickly confirm diagnosis and treatment information, and advance critical thinking skills and research.
Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive drug information database that provides access to current drug and disease information. Features include drug identification, drug dosing calculation, drug interaction, AHFS content, patient education materials, calculators, and more.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical decision support resource at the point of care, providing current information on over 10,000 topics in over 20 specialties.

Selected Nursing Databases

The Library offers a range of databases related to Nursing including resources that include articles, clinical information, reference material, and more. Resources with TUN logo are only available to TUN students, faculty, and staff. Use your TouroOne credentials to access these resources off-campus.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL Plus with Full Text indexes over 4,900 journals with full text for more than 770, some dating back to 1937. This resource indexes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, evidence-based care sheets, and more.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews and protocols prepared by Cochrane Review Groups in the Cochrane Collaboration. It contains over 5,000 Cochrane systematic reviews and over 650,000 other data records, covering clinical trials, methods, technology, and economic evaluations.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature. Over 8,500 journals from over 90 countries are currently indexed, including all MEDLINE titles and over 2,800 currently indexed journals unique to Embase. Users can search using MeSH indexing or Embase's Emtree indexing.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Provides healthcare information covering nursing, allied health professions, complementary medicine, and much more, with access to thousands of journal titles in full text, plus dissertations and other grey literature in nursing and related fields.
Nursing@Ovid This link opens in a new window
Select "Ovid Nursing Database" to view only nursing journals.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search four core multi-disciplinary databases – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. It includes over 3 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, books and chapters, gray literature (dissertations, technical and annual reports, consumer brochures, and more), and electronic publications.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Use the PubMed interface to search for biomedical citations. Download Nomad at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ and link to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by the Jay Sexter Library at TUN.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation database that includes peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing results.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical decision support resource at the point of care, providing current information on over 10,000 topics in over 20 specialties.

Did you know?

The Library offers over one hundred databases and online resources covering research topics, clinical tools, reference sources, news sources, and more. Coverage includes medical topics, education, and many other subject areas.

The Library Databases page allows you to search by type of database:

Subject Area: Select database related to your discipline, such as nursing or education
Database Type: Narrow your databases choices by focus, including anatomy resources or databases that include ebooks
Vendor/Providers: You can limit databases to particular database companies, such as EBSCO or ProQuest