Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Did you know?
The Library offers over one hundred databases and online resources covering research topics, clinical tools, reference sources, news sources, and more. Coverage includes medical topics, education, and many other subject areas.
The Library Databases page allows you to search by type of database:
- Subject Area: Select database related to your discipline, such as nursing or education
- Database Type: Narrow your databases choices by focus, including anatomy resources or databases that include ebooks
- Vendor/Providers: You can limit databases to particular database companies, such as EBSCO or ProQuest
Looking for Full-Text?
The databases will not always offer you the full-text of articles, but the Library offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This is a service where you can submit an online Interlibrary Loan Request, and Library staff will get the article for you.
If you need further assistance or have any questions regarding ILL, email email@example.com or call us at 702-777-1740.
What's a database?
Databases are Library tools that allow you to search for articles, e-books, and other materials. The databases on this page are ideal ones to start with for your discipline; go to the Library Databases page for the entire list of databases.
Search by database if you are looking for a topic. If you are searching by a specific article citation or if you are looking for a particular journal title go to the Journals page.
Selected Physical Therapy Databases
Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
A suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. Intuitive controls allow the user to zoom, rotate, and peel away layers to explore anatomical structures in depth. Also included are MRIs, X-rays, live-action movies, animations, and quizzes. Formerly called Primal Pictures.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVe) Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes experimental methods in video format. Access to educational videos in the Clinical Skills Series.
ICE Learning Center This link opens in a new window
Video collections of real patients and therapists, created to develop clinical expertise for faculty, students, and clinicians in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.
PEDro - Physiotherapy Evidence Database This link opens in a new window
Search bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of full-text journals for sports and sports medicine. Includes over 650,000 citations and abstracts of articles, books, and conference proceedings on sports, sports medicine, and fitness. Full text is available for more than 660 journals, with coverage dating back to the 1970s.
STAT!Ref (TDS Health) This link opens in a new window
A full-text healthcare library with 600+ titles in over 50 healthcare disciplines.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature. CINAHL Plus with Full Text indexes over 4,900 journals with full text for more than 770, some dating back to 1937. This resource indexes books, dissertations, conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, evidence-based care sheets, and more.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search four core multi-disciplinary databases – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.
Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a highly versatile, multipurpose and up-to-date database covering the most important international biomedical literature. Over 8,500 journals from over 90 countries are currently indexed, including all MEDLINE titles and over 2,800 currently indexed journals unique to Embase. Users can search using MeSH indexing or Embase's Emtree indexing.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Use the PubMed interface to search for biomedical citations. Download Nomad at https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ and link to the full text of journal articles subscribed to by the Jay Sexter Library at TUN.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A citation database that includes peer-reviewed journals, books, and conference proceedings covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus has tools for tracking, analyzing, and visualizing results.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical decision support resource at the point of care, providing current information on over 10,000 topics in over 20 specialties.