Skip to main content

Clinical Medicine: Clinical Tools

This guide is designed for students on clinical clerkships as part of the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program at TUN. The Osteopathic Medicine (http://libguides.tun.touro.edu/DO) guide features resources for the first two years of the DO program.

Resources by Types of Information Need and Time Available

Type of Question Time: <20 minutes Time: >20 minutes
Alternative or Complementary Treatment 

ClinicalKey - FirstConsult

Natural Medicines

CINAHL

MEDLINE @ Ovid

PubMed@TUN

PyscINFO

Calculators

ClinicalKey - FirstConsult

CINAHL

MEDLINE @ Ovid

PubMed@TUN

Clinical Cases

AccessMedicine - Case Files Collection

Differential Diagnosis

ClinicalKey - FirstConsult

Isabel

CINAHL

MEDLINE @ Ovid - Clinical Queries

PubMed@TUN - Clinical Queries

Disease Information

Isabel - BMJ Best Practice

FirstConsult (ClinicalKey)

UpToDate Anywhere

AccessMedicine

CINAHL - Clinical Queries

PubMed@TUN - Clinical Queries

Drug Information

Isabel - BMJ Best Practice

ClinicalKey

Lexicomp Online

UpToDate Anywhere

Evidence-Based Information

Isabel - BMJ Best Practice

ClinicalKey - FirstConsult

UpToDate Anywhere

Cochrane Library

PsycINFO

Guidelines

AccessMedicine

ClinicalKey

Images

Anatomy.tv

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination

AccessMedicine

ClinicalKey

Patient Education

Isabel - BMJ Best Practice

MedlinePlus

Natural Medicines

AccessMedicine

CDC Patient Education

ClinicalKey


 

Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time Using TUN Library Resources

When you need information in... Suggested resources Purpose/Scope of resources

...less than 20 minutes

BMJ Best Practice (Isabel)

FirstConsult (ClinicalKey)

Lexicomp Online

Natural Medicines

UpToDate Anywhere

  • Answer questions in a concise, easily accessible format;
  • Access to quality-filtered, evidence-based information, often with links to the full text.
  • Locate clinical information at the point-of-care / bedside;
  • Access to rules and calculators;
  • Find authoritative drug information;
  • Find up-to-date information.

...20 to 30 minutes

AccessMedicine

ClinicalKey

Cochrane Library

  • Provides summary, background information;
  • Go beyond the basics and scan collected information for relevant content;
  • One-stop access to a variety of content and materials;
  • Save time by simultaneously searching a variety of resources;

...30 minutes+ or in-depth case presentations

CINAHL

PsycINFO

PubMed@TUN

Scopus

  • Indexed databases of journal article citations and abstracts;
  • Search tools, filters and limits that help you find answers to your clinical questions more quickly;
  • Links to full text PDFs of the journal literature.

 

Adapted from “Answering Clinical Questions in Real Time,” compiled by the UCDHSC Anschutz Medical Campus Health Sciences Library, June 2007

Library Database Apps

The following is a list of apps for and mobile versions of library databases. Accessing these resources will require an active TUN Library account. Links are provided to instructions from the publishers.

AccessMedicine mobile app icon AccessMedicine app 

CDC mobile app icon CDC apps

ClinicalKey mobile app icon ClinicalKey app 

Cochrane Library Mobile app icon Cochrane Library app

EBSCO mobile app EBSCO app (for CINAHL, PsycINFO, etc.)

PubMed for Handhelds mobile app iconPubMed for Handhelds

STAT!Ref mobile app icon STAT!Ref app and mobile

UpToDate Anywhere mobile app icon UpToDate Anywhere app (Note: Requires log in to database account every 90 days)