TUN Jay Sexter Library Research Guides: Clinical Medicine: Clinical Tools

Clinical Tools by Type of Question

Resources

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.

Tutorials/Help

ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
Cochrane Library Training Hub
Live and On Demand training for Cochrane Library.
UpToDate Training Videos
Videos on accessing UpToDate and using clinical features.

Resources

NatMed Pro (formerly called Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine (3rd ed.) by Richard P. Usatine; Mindy Ann Smith; E. J. Mayeaux; Heidi Chumley
ISBN: 9781259862045
Publication Date: 2018
Each condition includes a section on "Complementary and Alternative Medicine."

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
NatMed Pro: Explore Key Features
Overview of databases (foods, herbs, and supplements; health and wellness; sports medicine; comparative effectiveness; manufacturers; commercial products; fixed herbal combinations) and tools (interaction checker, nutrient depletion checker, effectiveness checker, charts, and advisories).
UpToDate Training Videos
Videos on accessing UpToDate and using clinical features.

Resources

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Ferri's Best Test (5th ed.) by Fred F. Ferri
Call Number: Ebook (ClinicalKey)
ISBN: 9780323812894
Publication Date: 2022
Guide to Diagnostic Tests (7th ed.) by Diana Nicoll; Chuanyi Mark Lu; Stephen J. McPhee
ISBN: 9781259640896
Publication Date: 2017
Includes decision making, POC tests/microscopy, lab tests, drugs, microbiology, Dx imaging, ECG/Echo, DDx, algorithms, and nomograms.

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
MDCalc
Find medical equations, algorithms, scores, and guidelines.
STAT!Ref
Access titles like AAFP Conditions A-Z, as well as EBMCalc that includes medical equations, decision trees, converters, and ICD codes. See this page for more information on setting up the app.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
MDCalc FAQ
Frequently asked questions about MDCalc; content and contributors; using MDCalc; and additional content.
UpToDate Training Videos
Videos on accessing UpToDate and using clinical features.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
Case Files Collection This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
NEJM Clinical Cases This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
PsychiatryOnline Support Page for Institutions
Go to Training Guides > Institutional User Guide.
PubMed Online Training
PubMed Online Training portal containing quick tours, handouts, online trainings, and classes.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
VisualDx This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a visual reference tool for medical professionals that leverages AI technology and a comprehensive image atlas to improve medical decision-making worldwide. See their instructions for how to get access.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
PsychiatryOnline Support Page for Institutions
Go to Training Guides > Institutional User Guide.
VisualDx Video Tutorials
Tutorials by mobile device (iOS or Android) and topics such as building a differential and skin of color feature.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window

PubMed Clinical Queries
This tool uses predefined filters to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.

UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
CDC Apps
Apps include Contraception, Prevent Group B Strep, STI Treatment Guide, Vaccine Schedules, and more
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
Cochrane Library Training Hub
Live and On Demand training for Cochrane Library.
Perform a Clinical Queries Search and Filter Results
The Clinical Queries apply built-in search filters to the terms you enter. To access the tool from the PubMed home page, click on “Clinical Queries" under the Find menu
UpToDate Training Videos
Videos on accessing UpToDate and using clinical features.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Lexidrug Online This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
LactRx
Provides access to the LactMed database, which has current information on the use of medications, vaccines, diagnostic agents, and drugs of abuse during breastfeeding. MotherToBaby does not warrant or assume any liability or responsibility for the accuracy or completeness of the information on this app.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
Lexicomp User Academy: Training Videos
Videos on various Lexicomp features/tools.
UpToDate Training Videos
Videos on accessing UpToDate and using clinical features.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
CDC Apps
Apps include Contraception, Prevent Group B Strep, STI Treatment Guide, Vaccine Schedules, and more
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
USPSTF Prevention TaskForce
Assists primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex/gender, and selected behavioral risk factors.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
PsychiatryOnline Support Page for Institutions
Go to Training Guides > Institutional User Guide.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window

Google Images
Find images designated for reuse by going to Tools > Usage Rights.

LWW Health Library Medicine Education This link opens in a new window
Create a free personal account to access self-assessment, favorites, and other personalized features.

Available Osteopathic Medicine Textbooks:
Greenman’s Principles of Manual Medicine, 6e
Lisa DeStefano, Mark BookhoutAn Osteopathic Approach to Diagnosis and Treatment, 4e
Eileen L. DiGiovanna, Christopher J. Amen, Denise K. Burns
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques, 4e
Alexander S. Nicholas, Evan A. Nicholas
Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine: Philosophy, Science, Clinical Applications, and Research, 4e
Michael A. Seffinger, Ray Hruby, Frank H. Willard, John Licciardone, William A. Kuchera, Michelle Rey, Melissa Yunting Tang, Jessica Muhlestein, Azaria Lewis, Adam Burton, Ashley Garispe, Christle Guevarra, Christine Koh-Pham, Nicole Rouse, Kim Hecht, Scott Helf, Alexa Paulina Marquez, Aiko Seffinger
Somatic Dysfunction in Osteopathic Family Medicine, 2e
Kenneth E. Nelson, Thomas Glonek
The 5-Minute Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine Consult, 2e
Millicent King Channell, David C. Mason
The Pocket Manual of OMT, 2e
David R. Beatty
Travell, Simons & Simons’ Myofascial Pain and Dysfunction: The Trigger Point Manual, 3e
Joseph M. Donnelly, César Fernández de las Peñas, Michelle Finnegan, Jennifer L. Freeman

MedPix®
MedPix® is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images.
NLM Digital Collections
See the National Library of Medicine's digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care, and the history of medicine. Images are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.

Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
Thieme MedOne
To use the MedOne App, you will need a MedOne username and password. After the initial app installation and set-up which must take place on TUN's network, you will need to go to settings and sign-in.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
NLM Digital Collections Help
Overview (searching, resource records, downloading resources), FAQs, and more.
MedOne FAQs
Frequently asked questions about using Thieme MedOme.

Resources

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Create a FREE Access Profile and enjoy the following, including:
- Personalized dashboard
- The ability to create collections for various subjects
- Complete case quizzes
- Review questions and answers
- Access the mobile app
Includes access to:
- Case files
- Differential diagnosis tool - Diagnosaurus
- Drug database
- Patient education
- Quick reference
- Infographics
- Textbooks
- Review questions & flashcards
- Podcasts
- Images and videos
And more!
For more detailed information, including how to access the mobile app, please visit this page: https://go.openathens.net/redirector/touro.edu?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccess.mhmedical.com%2Fumbrella-main.aspx
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
NatMed Pro (formerly called Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new window
UpToDate This link opens in a new window

Mobile Apps

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.

Tutorials/Help

AccessMedicine: Getting Started
How to create a MyAccess account, quick reference, cases, lists of books by specialty, multimedia, study tools, and training information.
ClinicalKey Support Center
ClinicalKey Support Center for training, questions, and support.
NatMed Pro: Explore Key Features
Overview of databases (foods, herbs, and supplements; health and wellness; sports medicine; comparative effectiveness; manufacturers; commercial products; fixed herbal combinations) and tools (interaction checker, nutrient depletion checker, effectiveness checker, charts, and advisories).
UpToDate Training Videos
Videos on accessing UpToDate and using clinical features.

Mobile Apps

The following is a list of apps for mobile versions of library databases, as well as some free resources. Links are provided to information and instructions from the publishers.

*Use your TUN email when registering/creating an account.*

AccessMedicine
Multiple quick reference tools including practice guidelines, diagnostic tests, differential diagnosis tool (Diagnosaurus), and Quick Medical Dx & Rx. A free Access account is required.
CDC Apps
Apps include Contraception, Prevent Group B Strep, STI Treatment Guide, Vaccine Schedules, and more
ClinicalKey
See ClinicalKey's instructional guide which outlines how to download and access the ClinicalKey mobile app and utilize its key features.
EBSCO
Use this app to access resources in CINAHL, PsycInfo, EBSCO eBook Collection, and more.
LactRx
Provides access to the LactMed database, which has current information on the use of medications, vaccines, diagnostic agents, and drugs of abuse during breastfeeding. MotherToBaby does not warrant or assume any liability or responsibility for the accuracy or completeness of the information on this app.
MedlinePlus
Health topics, medical encyclopedia, genetics, drugs/supplements, medical tests, and recipes.
PubMed for Handhelds
Includes a PICO search and tips for how to create a well-built clinical question.
STAT!Ref
Access titles like AAFP Conditions A-Z, as well as EBMCalc that includes medical equations, decision trees, converters, and ICD codes. See this page for more information on setting up the app.
Thieme MedOne
To use the MedOne App, you will need a MedOne username and password. After the initial app installation and set-up which must take place on TUN's network, you will need to go to settings and sign-in.
UpToDate
Reauthentication is required by UpToDate every 90 days by logging in via a desktop/laptop computer.
USPSTF Prevention TaskForce
Assists primary care clinicians to identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients. Can be searched by specific patient characteristics, such as age, sex/gender, and selected behavioral risk factors.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a visual reference tool for medical professionals that leverages AI technology and a comprehensive image atlas to improve medical decision-making worldwide. See their instructions for how to get access.

Additional Clinical Tools

Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination This link opens in a new window
Clinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques, as well as OSCE clinical reasoning modules. It is based on the well-known book Bates’ Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking.
Bates' includes videos for the following:
- Physical exam skills
- OSCE clinical skills
- Communication and interpersonal skills
List of Physical Exam Videos:
1. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Adult
2. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Infant
3. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Child
4. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Older Adult
5. Head-to-Toe Assessment: Pregnant Patient
6. General Survey and Vital Signs
7. Skin, Hair, and Nails
8. Head and Neck
9. Eyes
10. Ears and Nose
11. Throat and Oral Cavity
12. Thorax and Lungs
13. Cardiovascular System
14. Peripheral Vascular System
15. Breasts and Axillae
16. Abdomen
17. Genitourinary System: Penis, Scrotum, and Prostate
18. Genitourinary System: Vulva, Vagina, Uterus, and Adnexa
19. Anus and Rectum
20. Musculoskeletal System
21. Nervous System
JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
The JBI EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across five publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVe) Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
The Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) is a peer-reviewed scientific journal that publishes experimental methods in video format. Access to educational videos in the Clinical Skills Series.