Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Did you know?
The Library offers over one hundred databases and online resources covering research topics, clinical tools, reference sources, news sources, and more. Coverage includes medical topics, education, and many other subject areas.
The Library Databases page allows you to search by type of database:
- Subject Area: Select databases related to your discipline, such nursing or education
- Database Type: Narrow your databases choices by focus including anatomy resources or databases that include ebooks
- Vendor/Providers: You can limit databases to particular database companies, such as EBSCO or ProQuest
Looking for Full-Text?
The databases will not always offer you the full-text of articles, but the Library offers Interlibrary Loan (ILL). This is a service where you can submit an online Interlibrary Loan Request, and Library staff will get the article for you free of charge.
If you need further assistance or have any questions regarding ILL, email firstname.lastname@example.org or call us at 702-777-1740.
What's a database?
Databases are Library tools that allow you to search for articles, e-books, and other materials. The databases on this page are ideal ones to start with for your discipline; go to the Library Databases page for the entire list of databases.
Search by database if you are looking for a topic. If you are searching by a specific article citation or if you are looking for a particular journal title go to the Journals page.
Selected Education Databases
Here are some databases that cover education-related topics.
Academic Search Elite
A database of more than 9,000 full text periodicals, including more than 7,700 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,000 journals with content dating back as far as 1887. Covers all areas of academic study.
Search for articles in over 900 periodicals (more than 600 in full text) with content dating back to 1991. Includes information on primary, secondary, and higher education, home schooling, special education, adult education, and more.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. This database contains more than 1.4 million records and provides the full text of over 340,000 documents dating back to 1966.
Professional Development Collection
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 700 periodicals (over 500 peer-reviewed) on education topics ranging from children's health and development to pedagogical theory and practice. Includes the full text for over 500 journals, with content dating back to 1965.
ProQuest One Academic
ProQuest One Academic is a multidisciplinary database that searches journals, dissertations, news, and more. It replaces ProQuest Central.
Provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. It includes over 3 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, books and chapters, gray literature (dissertations, technical and annual reports, consumer brochures, and more), and electronic publications.
Search for articles in more than 4,730 journals (over 3,315 in full text) with content dating back to 1971. Covers many areas of academic study, including business, education, health, literature, political science, and psychology.
Scopus is a citation database which allows you to identify the most influential articles on a topic and to find newer articles that cite older articles. The database includes citations from 1996 to present, as well as citations to scientific web pages, patent records, and conference proceedings.
Teacher Reference Center (TRC)
Search the abstracts of over 280 periodicals geared toward K-12 teachers. Covers assessment, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, and more.