Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Education Resources

Jay Sexter Library Open Access Resources

eJournals

eJournals

Australasian Medical Journal

Articles from a broad base of medical and paramedical researchers and experts. Contains papers from new experts and students.

Australian Family Physician

A peer-reviewed medical journal published by the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners.

BioMed Central Open Access

A series of 68 journals covering all major subject areas within biology and medicine.

BMC Medicine

Peer-reviewed medical journal known as the flagship medical journal of the BMC series. 

BMC Public Health

Contains articles on epidemiology and all aspects of public health with a special focus on the social determinants of health, the environment, behavioral, and occupational correlates of health and disease, and the impact of health policies, practices and interventions on the community.

BMJ Open

A peer-reviewed open access journal that includes papers addressing research questions in clinical medicine, public health and epidemiology.

CMAJ Open

Indexed in PubMed Central, CMAJ Open publishes medical research from all medical disciplines and allied health professions.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

An independent, community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Free Medical Journals

Access to over 5,000 medical journals on hundred of topics.

Frontiers Journals

One of the largest and highest-cited publishers in the world containing peer-reviewed materials covering more than 800 academic disciplines.

Highwire Free Online Full-Text Articles

Largest archive of free full-text science articles. Journal issues typically become available one-year post publication. 

MedEdPORTAL

An open-access journal of teaching and learning resources in the health professions published by the Association of American Medical Colleges. Publications are stand-alone, complete teaching or learning modules that have been implemented and evaluated with medical or dental trainees or practitioners.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)

Contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments and reports on infectious and chronic diseases, environmental hazards, natural or human-generated disasters, occupational diseases and injuries, and intentional and unintentional injuries. 

Nature Communications

A peer-reviewed open access scientific journal published by the Nature Publishing Group since 2010. It covers natural sciences, including physics, chemistry, earth science, and biology.

Public Library of Science

A non-profit publisher covering topics of science, technology and medicine. 

Public Library of Science Genetics

This journal reflects the full breadth and interdisciplinary nature of genetics and genomics. Topics include gene discovery and functions, population genetics, genome projects, medical genetics, disease biology, evolution, gene expression, complex traits, chromosome biology, and epigenetics.  

Public Library of Science Medicine

Weekly medical journal covering the full spectrum of the medical sciences. Publishes articles of general interest in biomedical, environmental, social, and political determination of health. 

Public Library of Science Pathogens

Reflecting the full breadth of research on bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions, and viruses to advance the understanding of pathogens and how they interact with their host organisms.

PubMed Central Journals

A list of  journals provided through the National Center for Biotechnology Information, along with the type of access provided, whether it be open access or through Creative Commons. 

Scientific Reports

An online open access, scientific mega journal published by Nature Research, covering all areas of the natural sciences. 

SpringerOpen

Open access journals and books published by Springer covering science, technology, medicine, humanities, and social sciences.