Data and Statistics

The National Library of Medicine guide provides a course that guides users through finding and using health statistics. Topics include an overview of health statistics, common terms/equations, and sources of health data.

For certain cities in Nevada, users can review data for various health outcomes, social and economic factors, health behavior, physical environment, and clinical care.

Describes four priority areas (chronic disease, access to care, transportation, and funding) and goals for each area.

Information on finance, health insurance coverage, Medicaid, CHIP, Medicare, providers, immunizations, physical fitness, and certain causes of death.

View more than 100 health and socio-economic indicators for the region, each county, or a unique zip code.

Compare Nevada rates to Healthy People 2030 objectives.

Comparison of Nevada and US data on multiple health outcomes and factors. These annual rankings have been developed by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Financial and utilization reports for acute care hospitals; non-acute care hospitals; and skilled nursing, intermediate care, and hospices.

County-level health workforce and population health database.

Includes current county-level information on the resident population, economy, social environment, population health, health workforce, and the health care delivery system.

Overview, resources, and organizations.

The Southern Nevada Health District (SNHD) collaborated with multiple community organizations and individuals to conduct a Community Health Assessment (CHA). This CHA identifies the community’s health-related needs and strengths as well as resources available to address and improve health outcomes.

Statistics on disease, drowning, and vital records as well as annual reports.

Statistics about cancer rates of death, new cases, and more.

Asthma surveillance data includes collection of asthma data at both the national and the state level. National data is available on asthma prevalence, activity limitation, days of work or school lost, rescue and control medication use, asthma self-management education, physician visits, emergency department visits, hospitalizations due to asthma, and deaths due to asthma from National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) surveys and the Vital Statistics System. Asthma surveillance data at the state level include adult and child asthma prevalence from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) and in-depth state and local asthma data through the implementation of the BRFSS Asthma Call-back Survey (ACBS).

The BRFSS is a natioanl system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. An optional module on firearm safety practices was included on the survey in 2017 and 2021 and will also be available in 2022.

CDC’s Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program compiles blood lead surveillance data for children <16 years of age who were tested at least once since January 1, 1997.

Summary reports, special reports, fact sheets, journal articles, and other publications that present data and key findings from NISVS.

Overseen by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), CBHSQ provides data on substance use and mental illness.

Statistics and reports on topics such as drug spending, opioid prescribing, Medicare enrollment, and more.

Decades of Medicare data, as well as supplemental materials including crosswalks and geographic boundary files.

This atlas from the USDA Economic Research Service (ERS) presents an overview of food access indicators for low-income and other census tracts using different measures of supermarket accessibility; provides food access data for populations within census tracts; and offers census-tract-level data on food access that can be downloaded for community planning or research purposes.

The data tool provides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient and emergency department settings, as well as population-based healthcare data on counties. Generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the United States.

More than 800 up-to-date health indicators at the state level can be mapped, ranked, and downloaded.

CDC’s NCHS provides information on the health status of children in the United States.

NHANES is a program of studies designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States.

NVDRS links information about the “who, when, where, and how” from data on violent deaths and provides insights about “why” they occurred. This enables policymakers and community leaders to make informed decisions about violence prevention programs, including those that address child abuse and neglect.

Graphs, maps, and tables present 1983-2021 data for all mining in the U.S. by mining sector. Examples include mines, employees, injuries, and fatalities.

PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy. Data on physical abuse by an intimate partner during and after pregnancy are collected.

The Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF) program produces a wide range of information about workplace injuries and illnesses. These data are collected and reported annually through the Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses (SOII) and the Census of Fatal Occupational Injuries (CFOI).

WISQARS is an interactive online database that provides national fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data.

CDC’s YRBSS monitors health risk behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability, including intimate partner violence (in the form of sexual and physical teen dating violence), among young people in the United States.